Review of HCG diet and weight loss

Ok, it has been a while since I posted any updates on the HCG diet.  First off, I did NOT do the hormone injection therapy of the diet I used homeopathic drops which I really liked.  I am beginning my last week of the maintenance period before I start adding back starches and sugars.  At this time I don’t know if I want to add back sugar but I definitely have to add back starches which is the reason I only did 30 days of the diet and not 40.

Our family observes the biblical Feasts in which I have to consume a small portion of starch for a total of 8 days.  I have read online of past HCG dieters who came off maintenance too early and starting gaining significantly when they ate starches but didn’t have much of a problem when they ate sugar.

During my first round I lost a total of 31 pounds; I lost 10 doing a modified Phase 1 by just cutting out sugar and then the rest while taking the drops.  I have a history of low blood sugar which I thought would be a problem while on the diet but it turned out to be a mute concern.

Ironically while in my stage of determining if this is the diet I want to do, I spoke with my birth mom who told me of her diabetes problems when she turned 40, of which I am two years away.  Two days into this diet I found out that she passed away due to her weight issues, which really encouraged my decision to do something about my health now before it was too late.

I was able to carry on my normal job responsibilities without any undue stress and came away with a new understanding of my body and food.  I found several good recipes online for my meals but mostly I just ate things raw.   Foods and mainly vegetables that I haven’t liked in the past, I now enjoy adding to my meal.   Overall I have to say that I really like this “diet” and look forward to the next round.

Remember that whatever you decide to do in your journey to regain your health, you have to find what works best for you.  This diet is very limiting on food but for me in many ways I have now discovered especially in P3 what foods affects me the wrong way and what foods my body really enjoys and thrives on.

In my previous post I made mention of a very enlightening video about the future of our food.  Since I have started Phase 3 or the “maintenance” phase in which I am maintaining the weight I have lost so far that the foods I am allowed to eat right now are ones that are not as processed or known to be genetically engineered.    For example: in Phase 3 you can have mayonnaise, cream cheese, salad dressing etc.   I have yet to find mayonnaise without sugar or any starches, I have found one salad dressing without any additives.  This has led me to open up my cupboards and start making my own food, it is like going back to your roots.  🙂

If you want to conquer your weight problem without drastic measures then my first piece of advice is to stop buying processed food, put on an apron, open your cupboards and start making things from scratch.   Not only will you know what is in your food but you will notice your body responding to the change in a positive light!  I also challenge you to try new foods, don’t try to many at once until you know if your body will have a reaction but maybe once a week try a new vegetable or fruit you’ve never had before.

Before starting the diet, I had never heard of chicory or chard and beet greens were something I thought you tossed away once you used the beets.  In some ways, this experience was like a science project – searching the internet to see what part of the plant can be eaten and what is dangerous…

I’m really pleased with the weight and inches lost!!  In my next post, I will post some of the recipes that I have come to enjoy. 🙂

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Review of HCG diet and weight loss

Leave a Reply

